Member Countries

PIANGO’s membership is made up of national bodies called National Liaison Units (NLUs). These are organisations or networks of NGOs which are broadly representative of NGOs in their country. With one NLU per country or territory, each NLU has one vote in the PIANGO Council. Where there is no NLU, interim membership may be issued to an NGO group working to establish an NLU.

PIANGO currently has NLUs and Interim members in 21 Pacific countries and non-self-governing territories.


National Liaison Unit

Australia ACFID – Australian Council for International Development
American Samoa American Samoa Association of NGOs (ASANGO)
Cook Islands CICSO – Cook Islands Civil Society Organisation
Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) FANGO – Federated States of Micronesia Association of NGOs
Fiji FCOSS – Fiji Council of Social Services
Guam Pay’uta
Kiribati KANGO – Kiribati Association of NGOs
Marshall Islands MICNGOs – Marshall Islands Council of NGOs
Nauru NIANGO – Nauru Island Association of NGOs
New Caledonia / Kanaky UTLN Kanaky – Unité Territoriale de Liaison de Nouvelle-Calédonie Kanaky
New Zealand / Aotearoa CID – Council for International Development
Niue NIANGO – Niue Association of NGOs
Papua New Guinea PNGCSOF – Papua New Guinea Civil Society Forum (Interim NLU)
Samoa SUNGO – Samoa Umbrella of NGOs
Solomon Islands DSE – Development Services Exchange
Tahiti Hiti Tau
Tonga CSFT – Civil Society Forum of Tonga
Tuvalu TANGO – Tuvalu Association of NGOs
Vanuatu VANGO – Vanuatu Association of NGO


Interim Member

Bougainville Nikana Ma’atara
East Timor FONGTIL – Forum NGO Timor Leste
Palau PCAA – Palau Community Action Agency
Wallis and Futuna Association Culturelle de Vailala
West Papua